The Road Less Travelled

Feeling a bit restless in your job? your city? your life? I am, and that’s why I’m going walkabout.

I’ve spent the last 16 years studying and preparing for the real world. Whatever that is. Now, 6 weeks from graduating, I look around to see my fellow classmates competing for the corporate life, ever so anxious to join the 9 – 5.  I’ve thought about it, and I just can’t bring myself to be one of them. At least not yet. Not with an average career spanning  four to five decades. There are too many cultures to grasp, cities to explore and natural wonders in this little blue planet of ours that I think the career can wait.

Robert Frost once wrote that “Two roads diverged in a wood, and I took the one less traveled by. And that has made all the difference.” Maybe going walkabout is my road less traveled, or maybe I just don’t know what I want to do with that 50 year career looming so I’m fleeing the country. I think it may be a bit of both. But whatever it is, starting the 28th of December, I’ve got a one way ticket to Thailand and the adventure begins.

I’ll be posting stories of places visited, strange food eaten (crickets anyone?) and other random musings along the way that may help inspire other would-be travelers. At the very least it will let Mum and Dad know that I’m still alive.

If you have any travel dares or challenges, must-see places in South East Asia or any off the beaten track advice I’d love to hear it in the comments below.

One thought on “The Road Less Travelled

Leave a Reply

